User

Default Finally pulled the trigger!

Hi

Since I were a small boy my dad would make biltong and sausage. Learned the art from him.

Since living in France I started making my own again because boerewors is like unobtainium over here. I started off with a small grinder that I bought for €30 to mince and stuff the wors. That grinder didn't last long and neither did the 3 I bought to replace it with. Also bought a sausage stuffer for €60 but that gave up the ghost very soon as the base plate bent and the seal broke.

Since the start of Covid I started playing online poker again and managed to grind up from €30 to around €5k, but have been making regular withdrawals, once because I saw an absolute awesome Weber, once because I wanted a plancha and I've also paid my hunting permits and stuff like that from that money - which is around €600 per year.

Last year I decided to get a proper grinder. Sick of standing there and grinding for 10 min with the small one and then having to wait for 10 min while it cools down. So I used some of my winnings to buy a Reber 9501N. Grinds 20kgs of meat in the blink of an eye. I'm also using it to stuff the sausage but this takes a lot of time.

I normally order 10kgs of brisket at the start of the month and grind it for us and freeze it to make burgers, bolognaise or tacos with. Cuts down a lot on the food budget and I know that it is not 20% squirrel or horse or meerkat.

This week I played well and had bit of luck and won 4 tournaments. As I were on my way to the abattoir I started thinking about the sausage stuffer I had my eye on for the last 3 years. When I got back home I decided that is it. I'm getting my stuffer - bought it as soon a I got home and normally Amazon will be delivering a Reber 6.8L sausage stuffer in the next 10 days!!! Can't wait to try it out! My dad has one in SA and he's been using it for the last 30 odd years.

Cheers

User

Default Re: Finally pulled the trigger!