Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    User

Default School me on AR's!

Howzit all,

I am still very new to the world of guns, but the bug has bitten big time and now find myself searching for an AR. I am not looking at buying immediately, but I do like to research the living hell out of anything I am going to spend a significant amount of money on! I’d still need to join a club and get DSS before anything.

While I have been looking around on the google machine, I would most likely be in the market for what I suppose is termed an “entry level” rifle – this is purely based on price as I really don’t (read can’t) want to spend R35k+.

I don’t see myself starting to compete or anything in the near future, so it’s primary use would be for the range and SHTF scenarios. Possibly also used as a vehicle-based gun when doing long trips or when venturing out into the sticks (Jury is still out on that idea though).

From what I’ve found, most AR’s available in South Africa come with 16” barrel lengths. This, to me at least, is not really ideal, as it is quite long, especially if adding a suppressor – something that I’d almost certainly do. I have shot a mate’s 16” M&P that is suppressed and it becomes a very long gun. Judging by the videos I’ve watched (remember, almost a complete noob here), a 12.5” or 14.5” would possibly be a better option. But then we go back to availability of rifles in this barrel length?

Optics wise, would probably be a LPVO of some sort – that probably requires it’s own thread!

I know next to zero regarding gas blocks and BCG’s that have been mentioned in other threads, so if that should be a consideration – let me know!

What rifles have sort of caught my eye in the interim are as follows:

• Smith & Wesson M&P Sport II. But then 16” barrel only seems available
    • Ruger AR-556. Same as above WRT to barrel length
    • Truvelo TRV 545. Satisfies the barrel length issue, but seems to be varying opinions on GS regarding this rifle.