Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Joining a club

User

Default Joining a club

Hey all.
    Im going to join a club for sportshooting as i finally got my FA and I was thiking of joining JDPC as itsthe closest club to me. So before I start i would appreciate as much advice as possible, I am very new to this and have not done much shooting. I have a cz 75 9mmP i have all the basic safty equipments and 3 mags.
    Thanks

User

Default Re: Joining a club

Get a nice little range bag (read any bag that you can pack all your stuff in), invest in perhaps 2-3 more mags, proper hat and/or sunscreen, and some aspirin, and then ammo ammo ammo!

Make sure you know the IDPA Rule book and have a copy of it in your bag as well. You will need to do the New Shooter Orientation as well, if you haven't already, and then get around to doing a classifier.

As for the rest, just go and have fun! Be respectful of other shooters, i.e. don't joke around and make noise when they are on the line (the fun and games come afterwards), be ready to pick up brass and patch targets, and ask as much questiosn as you can.

Good luck man!
    Last edited by cerop; 02-01-2012 at 11:48.

User

Hi Freakazoid,

Read this on the SADPA website it helped me allot, also try and tag along with one of the shooters that is in that club. You will soon learn the ins and outs.

http://www.sadpa.co.za/newshooter.asp

:-)

Ear muffs, hat, shooting glasses, food and snacks, liquids both cool drink and water, lip ice, range bag, ammo, GUN LOL! mags 3 is fine to start. good sturdy belt, golster that is suitable for everyday concealed carry which covers the trigger guard. consealment garment. You will need to do an NSO before being allowed to shoot. Contact the club to find out when they running one. Do not have to do NSO at the club you join can do at any club. My suggestion is do the first NSO that you can at thatever club then you GTG!