Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    User

Default CompTac Feature Article by The Shooting Wire.

http://www.shootingwire.com/

FEATURE

Between The Berms: Houston's Holster Capital

Lots of holsters, but unfortunately no free samples. Photo: P. Erhardt
    In all honesty, I'm not an expert on holsters. I leave that to guys like my esteemed colleague Rich Grassi, editor of The Tactical Wire, and Michael Bane of DownRange TV, who openly brags of having enough holsters to outfit a small nation's army.

By comparison, I own a few (very few) competition-oriented holsters, and I know how to use them, rather slowly, but that's about the extent of my expertise.

However, when it comes to understanding the manufacturing process and what goes into making a good holster, that I do get. Which is why I was looking forward to visiting Comp-Tac Victory Gear during a recent trip to Houston.

So that's what they mean by "Victory". Photo: P. Erhardt
    Back in May Between The Berms told you about how Comp-Tac came to be and how they approach their customers.

What I didn't know was how exactly they achieved their growth, because in order to grow fast you need to do a lot more than just work faster. You have to work smarter - much smarter.

And that's the gospel truth if you start out making a great product your customers love and rave about, but want to become more than just a sole proprietor custom shop.

Touring Comp-Tac with Gordon Carrell and Randi Rogers showed me exactly how smart owner Gregg Garrett is running his business.

The fact that two top level competitive shooters are on staff at Comp-Tac - and oh-by-the-way Garrett is no slouch either - should tell you something about the company's focus on their brand.

As GM, Gordon Carrell has helped implement a lot of Comp-Tac's successful business practices. Photo: P. Erhardt