Thread: .338 Sabi

User

Default .338 Sabi

Has anybody had any experience of this calibre and what are your comments?

User

Default Re: .338 Sabi

I have no personal experience with it but on paper it looks like a great bushveld cartridge. Nice heavy bullets(in comparison with 30 cals) at a moderate velocity.

Sean.
    Pain is just weakness leaving the body.

User

Contact Magnum magazine, Koos Barnard did an article on it a few years back.

No experience, but yes, does seem awesome on paper. Ammo is my concern though. You can only buy from Sabi Arms right? Definetly consider .338 Fed. Based on 308 case. 180, 185 and 210gr bullets (last mentioned is Nosler Partition). Developed by Federal together with Sako. At the moment only Sako chamber this calibre wich means its scarce and so the ammo to. BUT, rumour has it that Remmington and Tikka will chamber these and according to Chuck Hawks (amongst others) the .338Fed just might become very popular and ammo more availible.

User

With the demise of this cartridge (and the similar 333 OKH), there was a gap between the 30-06 class rifles and the larger 375 H&H magnum. For bushveld application, the 338 Magnum was regarded as too fast. What hunters wanted was a bushveld calibre in the same class as the old 318 Westley Richards. Because of the popularity of the 338 Magnum, 338 bullets have become readily available in a large range of weights and configurations.

The solution therefore was the 338 Sabi. Ballistically similar to the 338-06, it is not one. The Sabi’s case is blown out so that it is more of 9.3x62 necked down to 338. This was done not to increase velocity, but to lower pressure. This cartridge is also very easy on the shoulder for such a heavy bullet (recoil is about in the 30-06 class).

The cartridge was developed around the 250gr bullet at 2350ft/s. Although it will launch the 200grainer at about 2900ft/s this defeats the object of the calibre, which is: