Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    User

Default 9.5x57MS as hunting rifle

Gentleman, who has any experience with this calibre, I own a .308win for general hunting and started to look for a heavier calibre for my future hunts. I came across a Manlicher chambered in 9.5x57 with 50 Kynoch rounds. Does any one have any experience with this calibre, is it a legal calibre for buffalo or should I look at something else. This rifle is in mint condition at a very good price.

User

Default Re: 9.5x57MS as hunting rifle

Trommel, while I have no personal experience with this calibre (few will) I am willing to say that even if legal on buffalo due to calibre dimensions, I would suggest it is too little gun. I am not studied up in that regard but some African countries may mandate a minimum muzzle energy value for the cartridge besides the pure bullet diameter.

Get this rifle if you want a golden oldie for everybody to gawk at on the range. Use it at short ranges on kudu, eland, BWB. Whatever you do, do not modify the gun - not even to drill and tap for scope mounts. If you decide not to take it, forward me the seller's contact details

User

The 9×57mm Mauser is a cartridge based on the 7.92×57mm Mauser. It uses the identical 57 mm-long cartridge case, with the same shoulder angle, but necked up to accept a 9 mm-diameter bullet.Firing a relatively heavy bullet of approximately 14-16 g (220-250 grains) at a modest velocity of about 670–700 m/s (2,200-2,300 ft/s), the 9×57mm is low in noise and recoil, pleasant to shoot, and regarded as accurate and effective on all but the very largest, most dangerous game at distances out to 250–300 m (300-350 yd).