User

Default Dumbest (non-lethal) huting rifle & telescope mistake eve? I think I'm a contender...

So yesterday I go to Atlantis (which is becoming waay too crowded nowadays) to play with the new 243 Howa. The last session while breaking in the barrel went really nicely, so I was just looking forward to getting some more range time under the belt and dialing in my Nikon Monarch 5-20x44 a bit further.

After a few foulers I started shooting groups. After I was satisfied I wanted to adjust scope for a 2" high impact @ 100m to slowly get myself ready for June's hunt.

Since I was hitting 2" to the right and at height of point of aim it was a simple adjustment: 16 clicks "L" and 16 clicks "U" (Remember it is 8 clicks to 1 inch on these scopes).

Then I shot again. To my amazement the shots were further to the right and lower than before. I then recalculated and doubled my clicks. The deviance to the right and low was more than double than before! And then when I adjusted some more I almost missed the targed on the lower right-hand corner - this after starting on one of the left-hand blocks on the target.

After some cursing I decided to pack up as the range was working on my nerves - too many people and time wasting with people running to go and place targets after everyone is already waiting, waiting, waiting to resume shooting.

Anyway, on my way home I start thinking what could be wrong. I knew that I was careful to adjust like the ballistic turrets indicated. There must be some other solution... Then I got a funny feeling.

Last week, after cleaning the rifle, I played around with the different turrets that came with scope. It has the normal, low-profile turrets, the target type high-profile turrets and the oversized high-profile turrets.

I remember finally settling for the high-profile target knobs, even if it's just for sighting as changing to the low-profile ones before hunting won't affect point of aim at all.