Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Default best calibre for impala to small game

hey guys

what would be the best calibre, taking into consideration price for ammo and meat damage, for hunting impala right down the scale to even monkey and fowls!!!!!

thanx

User

I am no expert at all like most other guys on this site but I don`t think you will go wrong with 30CAL. (308 or 30-06).

You can load from 110gr (even lighter, I think 85gr) for monkeys and fowl, up to 200 - 220gr for Kudu and Eland.

I dont think you will find any other CAL that will be so versatile.

But, this is only my humble opinion.

thanx

i have got a 30 06. can use it for impala but
    was thinking something like a .243 or .222 or even a .22(not sure if the calibre is too small for things like duiker) for small game. like a vermin gun!!!! :)

User

.22 would actually be perfect

Sash x, .22 is deadly calibre but very marginal for Impala. Make no mistake it can do the job. I personally shot several hundred impala with .22lr whilst culling. Very few if any farmers will be happy with you to shoot at impala sized game witha .22. Its also illegal from hunting perspective. .243 is an excellent calibre choice and will also make an excellent varmint calibre with the right ammo, and is accepted for hunting all over for this sized animal. .223 would also be an excellent choice as the ammo is also cheaper and freely available. The .243 is probably a little more capable when going after bigger antelope.

I believe 222 ammo is a little scarce at times.

User

Bushboy,would .243 ammo be easily atainable? And also,how would difficult would it be to licence a rifle with scope and silencer?
    My uncle has a .22 with scope and we used to hunt impala with that. But that was before the arms act and stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by Sash_X View Post
    .22 would actually be perfect