Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    User

Default Firearms in an estate

What are the legal implications regarding the inheritance of firearms?

Default Re: Firearms in an estate

why u in line to get some nice toys, mmm, do share as we (me) are always hungry for names and calibers ;)

User

No, I am actually getting my affairs (will) in order. My question relates to me leaving my toys to my wife and son. I don't want them to be in the dark as to what needs to be done when I go to the great hunting plains of my forefathers.

I have dedicated status for sport and hunting and a safefull of guns. Without them being dedicated, I can't see them getting licenses for most of the firearms.

Unfortunately inheriting a firearm does not realy go down well on an application. As far as I have it the person inhereting it must apply the normal way and motivate just like anybody else. I do not think this is what you want to hear but I am no expert in this field.

Quote Originally Posted by Corné
    Unfortunately inheriting a firearm does not realy go down well on an application. As far as I have it the person inhereting it must apply the normal way and motivate just like anybody else. I do not think this is what you want to hear but I am no expert in this field.
    This is correct. Take them shooting and get them to aquire dedicated status.
    Cattle die, kindred die, every man is mortal:
    But I know one thing that never dies,
    the glory of the great dead.
    Havamal

The on;y reasons for owning a gun in SA is 1 Private Defense. 2 Occasional sport Shooting, 3 Dedicated Sport Shooting, Occasional Hunting and Dedicated hunting. There is always the gentlemen from SAAACA and they own guns in themes as dedicated collectors. Non dedicated guys are limited to 4 guns and dedicated guys to as many as they can get by Jaco Botma.