Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    User

Default Looking for some wisdom...

I am still very new to the whole bow hunting thing, but I am the kind of person that does a lot of research before I make my decisions. I prefer to understand things before I jump into them.

I am preparing myself and my gear to go bow hunting next season. I would prefer to be as prepared as I can be, so I am practising as much as I can and I am tweaking my gear to find the best setup for myself. I have a Bowtech Assassin Black Ops edition, Ripcord fall-away arrow rest, Ultra Lite Octane stabiliser, Apex 3 pin sight and Scott release. The bow is currently set at 60 pounds, but I want to push it up to 70 as soon as I am comfortable with my technique. The draw-length according to my height was set at 29,5 inches, but I later found that I am more comfortable and accurate at 30 inches. I must admit that if I do not concentrate fully on my technique or if I get too tired I sometimes get a slight string slap. I see it as a good thing, because it reminds me that I did something wrong and then I can correct it with my next arrow. Might just be wishful thinking though…

Any insights on the next few matters would be awesome..

I have six FMJ arrows (not certain of their full weight yet) and ten Carbon Core Stalkers. I want to re-fletch the FMJ’s, so I am not using them currently. I use the Stalkers to practise with at the moment and only focus on technique and accuracy.
    I received the Rage Chisel-tip two blade mechanical broad heads with the bow, but after looking at some tests on penetration and deflection, I think a fixed blade broad head would be better suited for me. Less can go wrong according to my way of thinking and that of course means a cleaner kill. I am looking at the G5 Montecs as a good option, but I would like it if someone that uses them could give me some insights on the pros and cons of the Montecs or even other fixed blade broad heads…