Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Hunting knife

User

Default Hunting knife

Hi all

I am looking for a new knife, i work in the game industry mainly as a PH and general farm maintenance and having a good knife is an essential tool. I currently have a CRKT free range hunter fixed blade. After using this blade to do what i need to do to a downed animal, i might as well turn the knife into a butter knife it gets so blunt. I am now looking for a new knife that will be able to stay sharp for a full days work with out having to sharpen it every 5 seconds. I have no idea what to look at, however i hear BUCK knifes are very good. If anyone could help with suggestions and where i could finded good blades.
    I am looking for the following:
    • Gut hook
    • Fixed blade (I am not interested in a folding blade)
    • Comfortable to the hand
    • Strength
    • Holds its edge
    • Good sheath
    • Easy to clean

Thanks all
    Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

User

Default Re: Hunting knife

I would suggest a dedicated gut hook. One that uses a Stanley blade, I have a Gerber one but I know there are a few others around. worth it's weight in gold.

http://www.gerbergear.com/Activity/Hunt/E-Z-Zip_45924

User

There are many many options for what you want

I feel it depends on your budget.

You have knives in brackets starting from R500 and going up in R500 increments till over R4k

Give us an idea of what your budget is and guys will be able to give you their opinions.

Also be prepared to get 100 options from people who swear by their choice

Banned

Agree on the dedicated gut hook.

User

And I would also look hard at getting a locally handmade hunting knife. Some of them tend to have very good edge retention and heat treatment. So maybe spend some time and google for local knife makers who make hunting knives (and not the cheapy stuff either)

User

Thanks for the advise, ill have a look around and see what comes u.

User