Page 1 of 17 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: My first gun

User

Talking My first gun

Hi
    Good day to everyone i am planing on buying my first firearm. my competency will be done on the 27th of October 2016 and im planing on getting a firearm for SD and for sport shooting. but seeing I'm a student i wont be able to afford an brand new multi purpose firearm or to get two different firearms currently i have a budget of R6000 but if i wait till the new year my budget will be around R9000. Im a big guy so i wont find it hard to conceal an full size firearm. Honestly im looking for a full size firearm as my first but the thing is i want help on which firearm to get at my budget of R6000-R9000. Im not looking for an brand new firearm because i know my budget is too low for a cz spo1 or a smith and wesson m&p or a glock 17 brand new but ive seen a few go second hand for a reasonable price but if anyone knows any other options that are suitable for EDC and comp shooting please let me know thanx.
    Regards
    Kinan

User

Default Re: My first gun

Btw im staying in p.e

User

Hi

When you say competency will be done on the 27th I assume you mean proficiency training. You will then apply at dfo for competency certificate. Given current turn around times this will only happen by the new year, thus I would recommend waiting and saving little.
    With a budget of R9000 you would be close to a glock/ vs or many a decent firearm.

My advise would be to save and buy what you want the first time round.... even if if it takes you a couple of months longer.

There's a saying around here:
    *Buy once - cry once*

Sent from my ALE-L02 using Tapatalk

Banned

Kinan,there are quite a few threads answering your questions. There are also a few used pistols for sale. You can look at a Browning Hi-Power, a CZ-75, HS/Springfield, Girsan or Stoeger. Or if you wait a bit you should be able to get a used CZ-07 or Glock at a good price.

You have 4 options:
    1. Glock 19 or 17