Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    User

Default Newbie - seeking info on SAPS rubber bullets / baton rounds

Greetings all,

Hope you don’t mind taking questions from a newbie. I popped onto this forum as someone trying to get info on an issue that people on this forum may have more knowledge of than the average joe -- police-issue rubber rounds.

Let me explain: I’m a policy researcher by day, but as a kind of a hobby I provide occasional advisories and fact-checking for journalists/media organisations — especially in areas where the media/public are getting facts wrong or misunderstanding an issue.

Right now (given the very messy political developments of the day) one issue that's coming up a lotconsistently is public confusion/misunderstanding about the use of ‘rubber bullets’. Especially with the hectic protests we've seen on campus the last few weeks.

For example, we’ve seen repeated instances where people have reported use of ‘live ammunition’ by SAPS, and journalists and bystanders do not seem to have the tools they need to determine whether or not these are accurate. Unfortunately, SAPS communication has also been slower than it could have been to address these. I’m hoping there are people on this forum who can help me get to the bottom of it.

1. My understanding is that SAPS uses double-ball baton rounds - basically two rubber balls stacked on top of each other in a 12-gauge cartridge. Assume that’s correct?
    2. Are there different types of rounds used - and how does one tell the difference, and are they employed in different circumstances? The shells appear to be a range of different colours (grey/off-white, blue, etc.) Do these colours signify different rounds?