Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Home security camera alert system

Hi guys,

Hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I'm looking to get a security system that will alert me if someone is in my yard so I can take necessary precautions. So far it seems like going the camera route would be best as then I can see where they are/ where they're entering from. I'm looking at installing a few Camera's (max 4 but only one for now - will add more later once budget allows).

What would be best? I've heard Hikvision is good. How does one set these cameras up with motion detection and where and what price would I be looking at (JHB)? Looking for a camera that will be able to send a msg alerting me or sound an alarm.

Are they any recommendations for a cost effective alarm system? And can it be linked up to the cameras motion detection?

What equipment would I need? I do plan on doing the installation my self to try keep costs down abit.

I'm very new to this and have no prior knowledge so please forgive my ignorance.

Regards Jason

User

Default Re: Home security camera alert system

Intro first in the relevant section, and then I am sure someone will be along to help.

User

Quote Originally Posted by JR1911 View Post
    Hi guys,

Hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I'm looking to get a security system that will alert me if someone is in my yard so I can take necessary precautions. So far it seems like going the camera route would be best as then I can see where they are/ where they're entering from. I'm looking at installing a few Camera's (max 4 but only one for now - will add more later once budget allows).

What would be best? I've heard Hikvision is good. How does one set these cameras up with motion detection and where and what price would I be looking at (JHB)? Looking for a camera that will be able to send a msg alerting me or sound an alarm.