Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    User

Default SHOULD I STAY OPEN?

After more than a year of applications, inspections, re-applications etc,etc, my outdoor shooting range in the White River district has finally been fully accredited by the NRCS and the SAPS. So this should be good news right?

Saps informs me at 10h00 yesterday that my accreditation has been approved. At 11h25 on the same day I get a call from the NRCS...... there have been complaints about my range and they need to re-inspect/evaluate the range!

So after some detective work I find out this is whats happening.

Background:
    I built my shooting range from scratch on my farm which is situated in a conservency 10km outside of White River (The Joe Winter Memorial Shooting Range). I am a retired individual, and decided to build the range after about a year of sitting on the "stoep" & drinking beer. Needed something to keep me occupied, and as I cannot get even khakiebos to grow as a farmer, my love for shooting & firearms led to the range being born. Before I even started, I stated my intention to the conservancey at their monthly meetings and asked that if there were any objections, they should be aired before I started building the range. This was all minuted & duly recorded. There were no objections & I continued with the construction, all the time making sure that I built the range to NRCS specs.

The range opened in October 2013 as a non-accredited range for licenced fire arms owners to use. No training could take place due to the range not being accredited. However, increasing demand from free-lance firearms instructors & security companies led me to apply for accreditation in April Last year. NRCS accredited first, with SAPS accredidation having come through yesterday.... then the phone call came...

So after some detective work I find out this is whats happening.