Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Twist rate and bullet weight

Good evening
    I purchased a 7.62 k98 Mauser 24" barrel...sure it an Israeli...the license says its a Browning.
    I have not a clue about the barrel twist on this rifle and cant test it as i dont have it yet.
    Ye olde interwebs spat out different twist rates of 1/10, 1/11, 1/12 and 1/14.
    Now i am new to all this technical talk and used to pick up my dads rifle, go to the bush and shoot something.
    Going to be a first time owner i feel compelled to get a bit anal about everything regarding this weapon to get it perfect

Whas hoping to shoot 180gn but at what twist rate would i need to be to achieve that? 180gn because i want to shoot everything i can afford with this one rifle

Sorry if i posted this in the wrong subforum

User

Default Re: Twist rate and bullet weight

Take a cleaning rod and brush. Take some masking tape and make a "flag" near the handle of the rod. Push the rod into the barrel until the brush is all the way into the barrel. Make a Mark on the rod at a reference point. Push the rod down the barrel making sure that the rod is turning with the rifling. Once the flag you have made has made one full rotation, make another Mark on the rod at the same reference point. Once you remove the rod measure the distance between the two marks you've made. Should be anywhere between 10 to 12 inches. 1/12 should work fine with any 180grain bullet that does not have a boat tail. 1/10 twist will stabilise pretty much any .30 bullet out there.

User

1:12 Stabilizes a 180gr soft point boat tail just fine. But if your hunting is going to be at a max of 200m, boat tail or flat base makes no difference anyway.

Why max 200m?
    Bullet drop shouldn't be that big a deal as you can compensate or turn the windage knob to get to where you want