Thread: Mauser 308

Default Mauser 308

Hi all. Ive been offered this rifle.im hoping to get some info on its value and price i should look at paying.also the type of use i should consider with this rifle and calibre. lm told its a 308 mauser ww2 manufactured.im told the stock has been changed.im new to rifles having only owned handguns.any help would be appreciated. regards zaheer
    Attached Images Attached Images

User

Default Re: Mauser 308

It's a stepped barrel Mauser. I've got the same, also in 308. Great rifle, accurate, easy to use. I just move as an all round hunting rifle. Mine was a converted Colombian army issue.

Price, not sure, mine was gifted. It's not worth a lot, but I'm very happy with mine.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Thanks graham.soumds good.appreciate your feedback.keen to hear from others and hopefully some pricing.would you guys suggest this as a first rifle or something more modern.my use would be occasional hunting...not more than once every 2 years and probably 5 times a year range shooting.i know its budget driven as well.im hoping to spend the least but on a reliable, able to access spare parts and trustful gun.i am open to saving and buying modern as well.thanks.

User

It's been sported so half it's value is already gone down the drain.
    What is the bore looking like?
    What scope is included? I can't make it out.

User

Hi Zaheer

It is an Israeli Mauser. The crest on the receiver is the IDF crest. It is a military Stepped barrel. The rifle was most likely converted from 8x57mm to 7.62 in the early 50's. Unmolested these rifles are worth about R4500 depending on the provenance of the original receiver (Original German or later Czech or Belgian FN). As a general shooter it would work great, but overall value I would put at about R2500 to be honest.

Regards

Paul

User

Quote Originally Posted by Vatikaki View Post
    Hi Zaheer