Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    User

Default 308 and the need for premium bullets.

I have only ever hunted with cup and core bullets. I have posted a few threads asking about premium bullets but never really commit to changing over. In all fairness, i have seen only the good of cup and core , none of the shooters around me use magnum calibres.In my case 180gr Pro-amms. So i sent a PM to one of what i regard, experienced members asking about premium bullet choice for the bush , and a choice for the occasional plains hunt. This was his response and said I can post this reply to stimulate further discussion and input from others.

My answer may surprise you.But,please keep in mind that i am not considering monos at all.I have limited experience with them personally but have guided clients on many different animals using monos of different makes in a variety of calibers and have seen some work and just as many failures...as in bullet punching through the animal with no expansion at all as well as bullets deflecting and changing direction inside an animal.

Our hunting conditions are particularly harsh in the Eastern Cape,on any one day we may hunt springbuck in the vlaktes and then later on kudu in the thickets and all of a sudden you get a shot on a kudu bull across a kloof.So,you could be looking at small creatures close or far as well as large creatures close or far.

To be specific to your needs....Sierra Gameking hollow point boat tail of 165gr....loaded to 2600fps.

Use the hollow point and not the soft point which has an exposed lead tip...they are very different bullets.

While practically any 180gr bullet from a 308 will do the job,so will the 165gr Sierra HPBT.

Plusses:
    1]At 308 velocity you do not need a premium bullet...start running at 2800fps and up...different story.
    2]They do not carry a high price tag which will allow you to practice without breaking the bank.
    3]Meat damage will be minimal on a small animal at close distance.