Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    User

Default Very old SD ammo in my Glock 22

Long story short :I've been carrying the same ammo for almost two decades... Yes, that is how old the ammo is, but I saw the light after learning better here on the forum. I replaced it with fresh ammo....three years old now... Eish. Anyway, thing is, I went to the range last week to sight my rifle for the ipsc nats this weekend, and decided to take the glock for an outing and to test the old ammo. Different quantities of CorBon, Federal Hydra Shock, Remington Golden Sabre and Starfire were fired. All of them worked.
    What's my point? Well, factory ammo really is high quality stuff. I still have my doubts about the 6 months interval of shooting out old ammo and replacing it. Fact is, the only ammo I only had an issue with was PMP hollow points. Failed to feed in my Glock 23C when I still had it 20 years ago. Other than that, no factory ammo malfunction ever.
    I know. Don't judge me. I'm just describing my experience. Please recycle your carry ammo regularly...

User

Default Re: Very old SD ammo in my Glock 22

I've heard from two people that had failures with their high end carry ammo after more than two years on them.

Anecdotes are just that

User

I think many factors play a big role, as does how the user uses the tool.

It's similar to car drivers. If driver A rides the clutch and doesn't have smooth gear changes, they might only get 40 000km out of a clutch where driver B with the same car is on 100 000km and going strong.

For comparison, if Glock Shooter A :
    - Does a flip and catch on a SD round. Then dry fire practice. Then re-chambers said SD round. Then press check. And repeat a couple times a week.
    - And then does something similar for range trips a couple times a month.
    - And doesn't clean their gun for several thousand rounds.

Then Shooter A is putting a lot of wear on their carry ammo and will have to replace it more regularly than someone like