Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    User

Default Difference between "normal" and "shock absorbing" scope mountings

Hi guys,

Okay, so after browsing around a lot to find a suitable mount for my Lee-Enfield rifle which would allow me to not drill and tap the receiver etc, I finally bought and fitted a Sun Optics mount for the No4 mk1/2 models.

I also found a nice scope I want to buy to slap on it, for a really good price. I then asked the vendor if, given how good the price is, I can use that on a .30 cal rifle. His reply was yes, but you have to fit shock absorbing scope mounts.

So here is the question - how does it differ for normal ones then if I can put it that way? I know they obviously absorb the shock, but visually how would they differ so I can differentiate between the two? I have a pair of really nice scope mounts at home that I want to use, but I don't know if they are shock absorbing or not.

I am new to this optics business so I would appreciate some guidance guys.

Thanks in advance.

Werner

Default Re: Difference between "normal" and "shock absorbing" scope mountings

Sorry which vendor told you this?

User

Chap from JNB lol. I quickly went to our local dealer to find out and he just laughed and said he had never in his life heard about this. I guess I won't be buying that scope then. Definitely something fishy about that.

Regards

Werner

User

He did however show me couple of scopes that he has there that would suit my needs better so I will buying one of those. Apparently they don't require any special shock absorbing mounts to work on a .30 cal rifle...

Werner

User

Sounds a bit funny to me.