User

Default Shotgun options.

Hey guys and girls.

So I'm looking into getting into more of the clay pigeon shooting and some wing shooting.
    Not too sure if I should just go all out and look at one of the expensive brands? Is over and under the only option?

Any advise as I'm new to this.

Thanks in advance.

User

Default Re: Shotgun options.

Howzit and welcome...

Flyluis - how much clay target shooting have you done already and what have you shot with; SxS (Side by Side), U/o ( Under over), Semi Auto.???
    Is there a gun that you've tried that fits and you shoot well?
    You can buy the most expensive gun you like, but gun fit is paramount. This piece of info will get drummed into you.
    U/o's are probably the most common, some guys like the semi-auto's.

Browning or Beretta are the go to brands and never write off 2nd hand either- there are some beautiful guns out there however they are scarce.
    And yes there are guys out there that for quite a few bucks can bend a stock to fit you should you find a bargain.

Not knowing how much clay target shooting you've done my advice is to hop around at the various gun clubs depending on where you are based and try shoot a
    few guns and ask as many questions as you can. Give yourself about a year to find something nice that fits and you shoot well.

my 2c

Fit is crucial.

Then high on list should be interchangeable choke selection.

As then you wont need more then one Shotgun.

In Trap you use Full choke.
    In skeet you use the widest open you can have.

You cant successfully shoot a Trap shotgun in Skeet or a Skeet Shotgun again in Trap. As their chokes differ. And the distance to clay differs greatly.

So being able to adjust chokes is a huge benefit to then only having one Shotgun.

In Sporting Clays and hunting most will use a half choke and a Full choke.

A Shotgun setup for Sporting will not work for shooting skeet. But you might be ok in Trap due to full choke.