Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Banned

Default Hunting / controlling baboons - a question or two

Just out of interest.

Shooting and culling baboons has been mentioned in a few threads. I have zero experience in this regard and would like to get a better concept. Would the knowing okes please comment on the following, and add a thought where necessary?

Baboons have good eyesight and are very aware of their surroundings?

They can be tough to kill?

They die slowly?

They can be a nuisance and really dangerous once they loose their fear of humans?

Use enough gun?

User

Default Re: Hunting / controlling baboons - a question or two

Baboons have excellent eyesight and are very intelligent. They can be tough to kill so shot placement is everything. I've seen a large male drop when shot with a .223 at around 220m and I've personally dispatched a couple with brainshots using SD hollowpoint 9mm from min pointblank range. It took 2 shots both times to do the job. If the aim is to reduce the population number of a specific troup or to get them to relocate then it is best to avoid shooting the Alpha at all costs. Better to shoot a female or little ones as the rest will generally decide to move on.

This thread by TStone might be useful: http://www.gunsite.co.za/forums/showthread.php?t=68268

User

Ds J...I am not an expert on baboons but have had a fair amount of exposure and problems with them to feel i can answer your questions .

.Good eyesight...yes. Like any predator,they have foreward facing eyes [like a human] and really good eyesight. They also post a sentry while feeding or raiding crops.This sentry sits in an elevated possition and his sole job is to keep a lookout for danger.Not much gets past him.They are also highly intelligent and,in areas where they are regularly shot at, they develop an extra sense of alertness that verges on unbelievable.