Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Motivating a .22LR

Hi All,

I need a little input here. I am motivating my .22LR under section 15 - Occasional Sport Shooting with the following points:
    1. Training - improve my own skills, cheaper to practice with etc.
    2. Partake in Chasa .22LR discipline
    3. Vermin control
    4. Teaching my kids

I am not a member of a sport shooting club but a member of KZN Hunters. My background is hunting, no sports shooting barring range time to practise. I don't have proof of sport shooting barring the odd picture of targets.

Spoke to my DFO and he says I must license it only for vermin control and not mention anything about sports shooting as it will be rejected. He is confident that it must be licensed under occasional hunting which I understood to be impossible!

Alternatively he says remove any reference to vermin control but I need to beef up my proof of sport shooting, letters from a club etc.

So any advice at which way to go? Totally confused.

User

Default Re: Motivating a .22LR

i have a .22 astra 6" revolver

motivated on section 15 with regards to cost savings

User

honestly for some reason .22LR freaks some DFO's out

"assassin gun"
    "can only be licensed if you live on a farm"
    "the government is scared of how quiet they are, and how far they shoot"

then we have all the sec 16 guys with ARs in .22

User

Did mine S16, NHSA 25m target competitions. Also mentioned teaching of daughter shooting in safe manner etc. Went through without issue.

Quote Originally Posted by pblaauw View Post
    Did mine S16, NHSA 25m target competitions. Also mentioned teaching of daughter shooting in safe manner etc. Went through without issue.
    Are you a member of a sport shooting club? Assume S16 - dedicated sport shooter and not dedicated hunter?

Maybe I need to join a sport shooting club, submit some pictures of targets as evidence of actually shooting and remove the reference to vermin control?

User