Default Bringing guns into SA for a hunting trip from New Zealand. (need advice)

Hi Guys

I am a South African Citizen but I'm working and living in New Zealand, i am also a resident here.

Later this year when i come to visit the family as i do every year i want to go do some hunting but i don't own any firearms in SA anymore and my family doesn't either. I know i will need an invitation from the farmer whose land I'm going to hunt on (don't have a place yet) and i know what paperwork i need from NZ and i know that i will get a Temp licence once i arrive in SA and that I'm restricted to 200 rounds per rifle.

What i don't know is, how much hassle is it to get the temp licence at the airport when you arrive and you are a SA citizen with overseas residency? I know if you don't have residency overseas but only visa then you also need a South African licence, but residents of other countries are allowed to do this. Can anyone advise?
    I have Rifle and Pistol competency from SAPS that is still valid.

Any NZ residents maybe on here that have done this?

Cheers

Default Re: Bringing guns into SA for a hunting trip from New Zealand. (need advice)

To add to this, i have emailed the CFR a few times over the last year or so but never got a response. Cant remember who it was i emailed but i recall they had and Afrikaans name and Surname.

Default Re: Bringing guns into SA for a hunting trip from New Zealand. (need advice)

As far as I understand it the temp permits are aimed at foreigners. I do not know if you can get one being a ZA citizen and officially a resident in the country. May be easier to rent the rifles in the country.

On the CFR: call them, emails are just ignored.

User

Keen to know the answer to this too

Right