Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Colt Officers MK IV Series 80 Firing Pin Stop Plate slides out

Hi guys

My Dad's EDC is a Colt Officers model. We went shooting recently and I noted during in between shots that the firing pin stop plate slides out and partially over the rear of the firing pin.

I'm not an expert, but I suspect / hope the culprit to be only the firing pin spring that needs to be replaced.

Would like to hear your opinions / experiences on this please? Will of course take to gunsmith if necessary.

User

Default Re: Colt Officers MK IV Series 80 Firing Pin Stop Plate slides out

Sounds like the spring isn't stiff enough to hold the plate in place anymore. If I understand the problem correctly, this would render the gun useless? Could be very dangerous, and it's supposed to be a very quick and cheap fix.

If its a Roll pin your talking about. Cant you just get slightly larger roll pin and put it in.

Quote Originally Posted by Toxxyc View Post
    Sounds like the spring isn't stiff enough to hold the plate in place anymore. If I understand the problem correctly, this would render the gun useless? Could be very dangerous, and it's supposed to be a very quick and cheap fix.
    Exactly my thoughts Toxxyc. And yes, it would render the gun useless. Will start with the spring and take it from there. If that's the problem should be easy enough to fix.

I suppose it will take a standard 1911 Government model type firing spring...?
    Life shouldn't be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving with a well preserved body...

Quote Originally Posted by shooty View Post
    If its a Roll pin your talking about. Cant you just get slightly larger roll pin and put it in.
    Thanks shooty. Will start with the spring, and consider other options from there on.
    Life shouldn't be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving with a well preserved body...

Gunsmith time.

User