User

Default It's New Gear Time! Help?

Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to the long range game and I need some advice from some of you guys with a bit of experience.

I've just pulled the trigger on a 308 win chambered Howa and I need a hand to help deciding what optics to get. My build considerations are primarily that I must be able to hunt with it from field positions, so F-TR stocks are out the question but I do want a long range tactical scope(because dialing and ringing gongs is loads of fun) but I want something that will do the job for hunting.

Realistically my hunting is going to be normal South African plains game in the bushveld and karoo so I envisage ranges from 20 to 300m or so along with some damage causing animal control and gong ringing as far as my skills will allow(currently 800m or so) which is why I have decided on a 3-15x magnification as my ideal.

I've done some shopping around and I've narrowed it down to:
    Lynx LX 3 3-15x50 Tactical(+-R12000),
    Rudolph T1 6-24x50(+-R16000),
    Athlon Ares BTR 4.5-27x56(+-R17000)
    Burris XTR II 3-15x50(+-R12500) and,
    Vortex PST Gen 2 3-15x44 or 5-25x50(+-R17500)

So far the Burris is far and away the cheapest(aside from the Lynx) and comes with good reviews, especially regarding it's toughness and reliability however I think some of the others(Vortex and Athlon have it beaten on glass). It also ticks boxes for FFP reticle, Forever Warrantee, ideal magnification, massive adjusment range and beefy construction. I have two concerns though,
    1. Can you get 34mm QR rings for Picantinny rails that are reliable at a decent price?
    2. Does the Burris Forever Warrantee work to the US standard in SA?