Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question Newbie suppressor questions

Hi All,

I recently bought a suppressor (numenor) for my new 10" Norinco CQ-A, this is my first time shooting anything with a suppressor attached, and noticed that it gets extremely hot after 5 or 6 quick successive shots.
    i searched but could not really get a short answer on the forum.

My question is how hot is normal and how hot is to hot ?,
    i get that the amount of suppression that the suppressor is giving me will def be building a lot of heat, as it is working much better than expected, but what do you guys put your suppressors through? few rounds, 1 mag(30 rounds), 5 mags or what ?

Im not looking for exact specifics, just something like general usage guidelines.
    Last edited by Skilla; 07-08-2018 at 11:59. Reason: grammar

Default Re: Newbie suppressor questions

How hot is normal? Hot AF.

I have destroyed a can - not a Numenor one - in a mag, despite me taking pains to explain to the manufacturer what my application was.

I have had a few Numenor cans on my LM6. Nico kept making me give back the old ones and giving me new ones.

The last one that was on the gun is still good. I shot the crap out of it. Including in a pretty intensive 2 day carbine class.
    Cattle die, kindred die, every man is mortal:
    But I know one thing that never dies,
    the glory of the great dead.
    Havamal

They do get hot. As remember alot of gasses are still burning and slowed down in it.
    if you go on Youtube there is a nice post in slow motion of how they work.

I fitted a Ase Utra SL5 on my 308 bolt. So obviously not shooting Semi with it.
    But the ASE are apparently made to be used on Full auto rifles and handle the heat.

User

To add to the above, also newbie related.
    Does sub-sonic ammo have an impact on the suppressor as well? In terms of wear and heat?
    I understand sub-sonic ammo is supposed to be much quieter , esp going through a can.