Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Kill time

User

Default Kill time

So I have a few sources on this, but not enough to put me at ease. Anyone willing to provide an average time taken for an animal to expire from various hits? I know there are many variables, just a general time would be great.

User

Default Re: Kill time

I am no doctor but from what i have observed is the appearance of instantaneous death is only created by damage to the brain,high spinal cord or multiple simultaneous wounds inflicted by shotgun pellets which seem to 'overload' the central nervous system.

You say you have a few sources on this but not enough to put you at ease? May i then assume that you are anti hunting to a smaller or larger extent? It worries you that animals may be having to endure a lot of suffering before death?

Ok,fair enough,the question is pretty reasonable. Besides the above 3 scenarios that i mentioned,there are also the 'bang...flop' scenarios where the animal drops on the spot and dies. Death is measured here in seconds and there may or may not be a couple of seconds of head or limb movement which look more uncontrolled than a deliberate thought out movement.

We then get the animals that take off running at the shot and some off these animals look totally un-hurt. This 'death rush' happens with even a well placed shot that damages heart and or one or both lungs. This rush could take the animal anywhere from 5-300m before the animal collapses or stops briefly,lies down and dies.This could take up to a couple of minutes or so.

Then there is wounding caused by a badly placed shot in which the animal could take a week to die.Noboddy wants this.This is an absolute worst case scenario and is why so much emphasis is placed on shooting practice,ethics and so on.