Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    User

Default Hunting bullets for a .303

I have a 303 Mark 4 II. An old kadette/training rifle that has been scoped. I got it with a bunch of old military FMJ ammo. I also bought some PMP brown box to hunt with. I don't have great expectations of accuracy. 2MOA is what I hoped for. After a trip to the range, the mil surplus rounds give me about 2-3MOA and the PMP brown box spread all over the A4 target at 100m, so I can not use it for a living thing!

Anybody got any ideas what I can use to hunt with, (bought ammo or reloads) that will give some semblance of accuracy?

User

Default Re: Hunting bullets for a .303

Are the mil surplus bullets a different weight to the PMP bullets?

User

Quote Originally Posted by pre 64 View Post
    Are the mil surplus bullets a different weight to the PMP bullets?
    Military rounds are usually 174 grain, but they are longer than standard 174 grain PMP as they have an Aluminium tip vs all lead of standard PMP.

Maybe check if the cartridges have the same COL.
    Might be that your chamber throat are a bit shot out, that is why you get better groups with the longer bullets?

Banned

PPU 180gr. It should be scarce but it works with Enfield 303's. At least, I have never had a complaint from anyone who listened to the advice.

User

My old stock standard 303 with a scope fitted does best with Sierra Pro Hunters in 180gr, sent forward behind 40.5gr of S335 at a speed of around 2,500 FPS if I remember my numbers correctly now. It's not sub-MOA accuracy, but to around 200m I'll take comfortable broadsides on anything.

User

Do you reload? I will give you a recipe, but you will need to find S335

38,5gr of S335 behind a 174gr PMP Softpoint gave very good results for me. I've had three Lee Enfield's, two of which gave 1" groupings at 100m. The other was a Boer War Long Lee with a dark bore, but gave palm sized groupings a@ 100m.

Keep in mind that a scope and scope mountings can also cause trouble.

User