Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Remington 783 vs Howa 1500

Ok, the Remington is the 783 Heavy Barrel 24 " Currently on special for R9k.Howa Bull barrel with Hogue stock for about the same Moola. Caliber is 308 Win.

Application: Gong shoots and Punching paper.

I have some experience with the Howa 1500 in standard configuration. I have shot witha lady friend's 308 many times. It is extremely accurate.

Which one of these two will be the "Better" choice for my intended application ?

I am aware of the differences such as the Remington has a threaded barrel and the Howa takes one more round and there are more after market accessories. And honestly they are not a deciding factor in this regard. I want an accurate firearm that performs well shot after shot.

Regards

KZ

User

Default Re: Remington 783 vs Howa 1500

From talking to guys "in the know"... Rem700>Howa>Rem783

me on the other hand, I'd take Howa over either of the Rems, I don't own a Rem but I have nothing to complain about with the Howa, nor have I wished something different of it.

Thank you for the reply C Yes I must admit that I'm a big fan (dare I say wannabe ambassador) of Howa rifles. The Rem is really good priced, and I like the rail. I'm not a big fan of the Synthetic stocks. And if I decide to go Howa, I will opt for the Laminated/Varminter stock. The stock on the Rem is much better "feeling" for me compared to the Hogue on the Howa.

Banned