Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    User

Default Soft, CAT or RAT?

Which one are you carrying?

I'm doing some research into what to pack into an IFAK/range med kit and would like to understand from the medics amongst us which of these tourniquets they would recommend; keeping in mind that the average user would likely not be medically trained.

I'm partial to the CAT but that's not based on any solid scientific evidence.

What say you?

TIA

Default Re: Soft, CAT or RAT?

Quote Originally Posted by PeaceOfficer View Post
    Which one are you carrying?

I'm doing some research into what to pack into an IFAK/range med kit and would like to understand from the medics amongst us which of these tourniquets they would recommend; keeping in mind that the average user would likely not be medically trained.

I'm partial to the CAT but that's not based on any solid scientific evidence.

What say you?

TIA
    I'm no expert by any means. When attending a "stop the bleed" course with Rob McCallum last year he recommended 3 types of TQ and we trained with them.

CAT - This was the easiest to apply one handed. Overall ease of use and good design makes this an awesome piece.

SOFT - Very "heavy duty" TQ but a little more difficult to apply one handed.

SWAT - This is an elastic tourniquet that's harder to apply in untrained hands and might not be as effective as the other two on the upper leg. Can be used as a pressure bandage as well.

In my IFAK I carry a SWAT TQ, compressed gause and latex gloves. Reason being the SWAT is compact and extremely versatile. In a bigger kit that I do not need to carry on me, I'll personally have a CAT.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Only the CAT Gen 6 and 7 and the SOFT W, the wide version, are on the CoTCCC list.

The Gen 7 CAT is pretty much the state of the art at the moment.
    Cattle die, kindred die, every man is mortal:
    But I know one thing that never dies,
    the glory of the great dead.
    Havamal

User