Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    User

Default Semi Auto Shotgun advise

Good Day people, Im in the market for a semi-auto shotgun, and im actually one of the few people who asks for reviews and advise BEFORE I buy a gun, I shit you not....

I saw the Beretta 1301 on SO website for R22995.
    24" Barrel, and im sure you can fit a magazine tube extension?

My sport of choice is IDPA so this shotgun will be used for DMG, but I might want to hunt some bird with it, and I dont know if I might want to do 3 Gun in the future so I dont really want to buy a gun that excludes me from that.... (I dont know anything about IPSC, and Im relatively new to IDPA)

I would obviously love a Beneli M2 but I dont have R35000 (and then another R50000 for the divorce lawyers after my wife leaves me ) But I can maybe save up...

Is there a cheap alternative which would suit my need? I all ready own a Maverick88 and ill probably get rid of it to fund the new one but ill put that up for sale at a later stage....

What do you guys use and what would you suggest? TIA

Default Re: Semi Auto Shotgun advise

I'd say Beretta 1301 is a good option. There was a huge special on 1301s last month, they were on sale for +-R13000. That would have been good, pity you probably missed it.

I have a 1301 Tactical which is not ideal for matches I think, but it's what I have. I did fold and buy a 1301 Comp on the special.

Others might suggest the Benelli M2 and SP. That's a wonderful option if you are willing to save up. Beretta is bringing out a competitor to the Benelli SP if memory serves with the loading port already cut, smoothed etc but I'm not sure on pricing.

Not a lot of people would suggest a pistol grip for competition so a Benelli M4 with pistol grip is not ideal for competition purposes IMHO.

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

User

The 1301 is a great gun, only downside being parts availability.

The M2 Sp is great value long term as you need to buy less things for it.

User