• A-Tec A-TEC H2

2 14.29%
  • Ase Utra S SERIES SL5I

2 14.29%
  • Sus Tac Whisper

1 7.14%
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Silencer Choice for .30-06

Please assist me with my choice of silencer and feel free to make recommendations if I am missing anything

Rifle to be fitted is a Tikka T3 Hunter .30-06

I am new to silencer/suppressor world so for me I would think length, diameter, weight and Db performance are what counts.

What is the best?
    Why should I not buy one of these?
    What am I missing?

*let me know if anything is wrong in this table

Silencer Length Diameter dB Reduce Weight(g)
    Gun Warrior 217 50 ? 415
    Aimsport Triton 42S I 237 42 ? 390
    A-Tec A-TEC H2 230 49.4 33 410
    Ase Utra S SERIES SL5I 118 44.5 23 345
    Sus Tac Whisper 244 ? 36 257

User

Default Re: Silencer Choice for .30-06

If you go the Aimsport route, you will need to go with the 50s rather than the 42s for 30-06.

The Aimsport would be my pick if it is going to be fitted to a hunting rifle.
    I run them on a .243 and a .308 and have been happy with the sound moderation performance.

Banned

Please add the prices, and what you want to do with it.

If a bakkie carries your rifle, and if your purse allows, take the one with the best sound reduction irrespective of size and weight.

If you prefer walk and stalk and shoot little, take the smallest one - probably aluminum.

If you shoot a lot, take a steel suppressor.

The DB also depends on where they take the reading.
    Next to rifle or for example shooter position.

Another thing to remember is. the further you move something forward or away it actually increases its weight effect. For example the rifle barrel is fixed at 1 point to action. So adding weight on other end and moving it more and more forward increases the effect on barrel flex I believe. So the longer the silencer the more effect it will have on the barrel and harmonics when you fire t.
    Something like Archimedes effect or so they call it.

User