Default Scope for long range shooting

Hi guys.

I'm looking for some help with regards to a scope for long range shooting. I will be using my 7mm Rem Mag. Ive just got it back from having glass bedding done and I've had the barrel free floated. I'm a true beginner when it comes to this. I have been doing my own reloading for hunting so Ile be looking for a good all round target bullet and load for my 7mm. I've been looking at some scopes, I tend to lean for open turrets instead of hold over. Is there a scope in the SA scene that I should be looking at. There is alot of info on this subject but majority of it is all in the USA.

Any help would be greatly helpful.

Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk

User

Default Re: Scope for long range shooting

You can look at the Leupold LRP series scopes (I have one, love it, mushy elevation clicks is an irritation), or the Vortex PST series (I have no experience with these scopes).

Any scope you can find overseas, you can find here.

Before you look at any scope, first create the drop chart for the load you expect to be using. From the drop chart, see what the MOA drop is at the max distance you are looking to shoot. The scope you choose must have 2x that MOA adjustment available.

Then filter scopes by your budget, and check against what other people use to shoot the range you are looking for.

So depending on your budget. Alot of guys will say up to 16x power will be adequate to 500m. This 100%.

Vortex makes great scopes. And good after sale. I have 2.

Lynx makes the new LX3 range which is also crystal and affordable price due to be SA company. I have the LX3 5-30x56 on my 308. Shooting at 500m turning it up to 30x its incredibly clear.

Is 30x necessary. Nope. But its nice to use instead of spotting scope to look at impacts at 500m

User

Quote Originally Posted by shooty View Post
    Vortex makes great scopes.
    Hear here!

User