Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    User

Default Looking at getting my first shotgun

I have two daughters about whom I have been told will grow up to be real heart breakers, and it has also been suggested by several people that it might be wise to purchase a shotgun I have considered that the only assurance I have they will make wise decisions is by being a perfect, respectful and loving father, and hope that they will have the sense to choose someone like me. I have also figured that if I teach them to shoot, they could probably sort out some of their problem creatures on their own. With that being said, and before I talk myself out of it, I am looking at getting a shot gun to use for guinea fowl, rockies and perhaps some clays as well. I am completely new to this shotgun thing, having only borrowed one on occasion, and never really paid much attention to what I was shooting with, so rather than buy twice, I'm hoping to rather get some good advice from you guys. I come from a rifle hunting background, if that helps to narrow the scope a bit (sorry bad pun).

I am not into the whole name dropping thing, and couldn't give two hoots if its a hand engraved H &H or its dipped in muddy pink camo, as long as its does what it was meant to do.

So where to start?

Is it worth buying second hand? Can you wear out a shot gun? Do they need a whole lot of 'tweaking' like a rifle to get them shooting right?

Is there a Howa equivalent in shotguns?

Can you get a bad one?

What are chokes? should I be bothered about them?

User

Default Re: Looking at getting my first shotgun

Do you have Dedicated status? Can you own a semi-auto?

User

Your simple query would,to answer in detail,fill a couple of thick books.

What is your budget?

You can get a decent used side by side for under 5K or a good used over and under for under 10K.
    My choice would be for an O/U single trigger with fixed chokes as a budget start gun and i would look for a good used one.