Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Default Options for long range precision rifles

Hi all

Recently, I've been reading more about long range precision shooting and the rifles used. This was due to a gunshop advertising the Howa APC in 6.5 CM. That got me thinking. What would you guys say is a good option for a total beginner to start with in long range precision shooting? I imagine it won't be something that is hella expensive for a first timer but who knows?

So, please let me know your thoughts on what a newbie might consider as a first rifle and in which caliber (very important). Would you buy a complete gun, like a RPR, or would you buy the action and put it in a chassis? If so, which chassis?

Thanks all.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Default Re: Options for long range precision rifles

For what type of long range. Long range, Extreme long range, PRS/NRL type shooting?

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Edwill View Post
    For what type of long range. Long range, Extreme long range, PRS/NRL type shooting?

Honestly, I haven't gotten that far into the research yet. Shall we say PRS matches, to shoot to 1km at most? I don't actually know... Maybe you know better Edwill?

Stay away from APC. It's not great for PRS type. If you keen to start shooting, Howa 6/6.5Creed in a chassis would be good option. Then the best glass you can afford. Good glass will cost 2-3 times more than rifle setup, not to mention decent rings etc

User

Try some stocks / chassis first, we have a wide choice, e.g. Gunwarrior (and Warren is a top bloke). I had a more traditional stock build by Armtec for my LOP etc.

It's a rabbit hole that will suck you in and not let you out again.

User

If you’re on a budget and decide on a Howa, the Hogue stock can work as a starting point. A little reinforcement in the for-end and some added weight in the butt and you’re good to go. You can always add a new stock or chassis later.

User