Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    User

Default Gunmyths - Rifle Bag Rust

It is probably a common fact that leaving a gun in a gun bag can cause or accelerate rust.

I have been doing so for the last two months but without getting rust. Probably because every time I use them I wipe them down with an oily cloth and I don't put them in the bag after shooting while they are hot.

So what I'd like to know is under conditions do they rust? Is it from a cold floor like a canvas tent's miff. Is it from having rust already and just getting worse or is it simply just that leaving a gun in a gun bag long causes rust?

Default Re: Gunmyths - Rifle Bag Rust

You get rust from moisture condensing on the metal.

In high humidity areas, the humid air permeates the safe in the day, and the cool of the night causes it to condense onto whatever metal is in the safe.

If your rifle is oiled in a closed bag, the air in the safe can't condense onto it.

When rifles are stored or boxed for a long time, they are covered in grease for this reason.

A bag that has openings, or flaps into the main compartment will let the humidity in.

You can test the theory with two offcut, unpainted pieces of mild steel. Coat one in oil, and wrap it in cling wrap. Rub the second piece down with an oil rag, and leave it unwrapped. Put them in the safe for a while, and see what happens. If you have aggressive humidity, like near the coast, the unwrapped mild steel will show some rust even though it was wiped with the oil rag.

Banned

A rifle will rust if put in bag warm/hot and stored, always air bag open(bags can go moldy) and rifle for a good while before locking away.

Depending on material type, Nylon, Rayon (synthetic materials) will be less likely to hold moisture and retain damp than leather and felt type of bags, also they breath better so as to reduce chances of condensation inside the bag.
    All this would likely be the most affected by where you live, Joburg thunderstorm area or Karoo velt.

User