Thread: Trigger Reset

User

Default Trigger Reset

Just some thoughts I have had over the last couple of days. I wonder whether we as Glock shooters are becoming what 1911 shooters were twenty or so years ago naysayers of everything different.

We seem to focus very much on the trigger reset sometimes almost to the exclusion of everything else. I know I have been guilty of this and it didn't really occur to me until recently. Before I got my first Glock I wasn't a big fan of the system and as a 1911 shooter hated the triggers on them. It took me a lot of practise and thousands of rounds before I was able to exploit the Glock like a 1911. Now I have found since I started shooting Glocks I do the same thing as when I shot 1911s. I shoot something else and if after a few rounds it isn't the same I often immediately don't like it.

The M&P is a classic example of this irrational fixation. Read any internet forum and generally the biggest gripe is the lack of a positive reset. I have only shot 2 and granted they had both received small trigger jobs but while the reset wasn't Glock firm the break was far cleaner. Khumba made the point to me that when he compared the M&P trigger to his 1911 the reset was almost the same yet few would disagree that a Wilson Combat 1911 has a fantastic trigger.

I know that Miculek (sp?) points out the importance of a proper reset but then again that is shooting a D/A revolver with a much longer reset than most DA/SA or SFA pistols.

I recently played with a H&K P30 and immediately noticed that the reset was long which would ordinarily make it a no go for me. But the rest of the ergonomics were far better than any of my Glocks. I suppose my point is that while I and many I know were happy to learn to shoot a Glock after using something different because of the benefits of the system shouldn't we be willing to learn another system if that too can offer us benefit. Just a thought.

Ramble over

Default Re: Trigger Reset