Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    User

Default Balistix Bullets Review and interesting observations.

I have been using 7mm Barnes TTSX 120gr in my 7x64 for many years on everything from springbok to Eland, and have found them to be accurate and mushroom perfectly every time. I regard them somewhat of a gold standard against which a hunting bullet should be judged. So with the supply issues that we have in South Africa, I went looking for a replacement. I considered the GMX, Peregrine and Frontier, but in the end, the only thing I could get my hands on in George through a local agent were the Balistix 7mm Huntac 140g. They look pretty cool and remind me of the GS Customs in that they have thin drive bands, rather than the grooves seen in other monos. They are also unique in that they differ in having a rebated boat tail. I’m not sure if this is a gimmick, or if it does anything, but it does look kind of cool. They are also covered in a white hexaboron nitrate powder which seems to help lubricate the seating which make reloading them a bit easier. I weighed the bullets, and found them quite consistent in weight.