Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Good and available .25ACP/6.35mm cartridges

Good day, all

I am new to the firearms scene in South Africa, and have inherited a .25 ACP Baby Browning pistol that I am busy transferring to my name.

So far, I have found very few suppliers of .25 ACP ammunition available in my area (Stellenbosch and around Cape Town), but am unsure of whether it is because of general ammunition shortages, or if it is always the case that I am going to struggle to find the cartridge.

Can anyone please help me with any information in this regard. If you know of any good brands of ammo to look out for or bad brands to skip that would be awesome. Also, if you know of any shops in the area that stock the cartridges, that would be very helpful.

Thanks

User

Default Re: Good and available .25ACP/6.35mm cartridges

I'm speaking under correction here as I've never tried to buy but I think 25 ACP is a pretty niche cartridge and is unlikely to be in stock as sales volumes are likely tp be low. Have not seen one in use since taking my gran to the range in the late 80's. I'd suggest looking around smaller, older gunshops who may have a dusty shelf.

Banned

It is available, just not in all shops.

I do not think that you would have much of a choice at first. Buy whatever you can get. If you buy regularly from one shop, they might keep it for you. I have used some old ammo from PMP without hickups, as well as S&B.

If you start asking around, you will probably find ammunition from folks who do not want to relicense.

Reloading is said to be tricky

User

Quote Originally Posted by Ds J View Post
    Reloading is said to be tricky
    I tried once a long time back, to help keep my gran's PPK fed, and the experience was fiddly enough that I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with standard size hand ;-)

Banned

Phone GunShack in Port Elizabeth they had some very recently + R100 for Courier Guy it will still be worth it.