Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    User

Default Monolithic Expanding Bullets, Weight and Velocity.

So as not to hijack the Desert Fox's post in the reloading thread.

https://www.gunsite.co.za/forums/sho...33#post1440733

I have a lot of respect for driepootx's knowledge, experience and also his willingness to help fellow reloaders. But I, respectfully, do not agree with his statement that a 130gr expanding monolithic bullet is a better choice as a hunting bullet in the .308 win than a 150gr expanding mono bullet, as suggested by GS Customs.

While I have very little experience with the .308 win, I have used expanding mono bullets (Barnes X/ TSX/TTSX, Hornady GMX and Peregrine VRG4/VLR4) in a 1 in 10 twist .300 win mag,
    on a lot of game. I have tried these bullets in 150gr, 165gr and 180gr and have always gone back to the 180gr weight. Accuracy was equally good with the different weights and while penetration with the 150gr bullets was good enough for general hunting, the 180gr bullets performed better on large animals when thick bone and/or muscle was hit from challenging angles.

I have also used monolithic expanding bullets in the 6.5 Creedmoor, 6.5x55 SE, 7x57, 9.3x62 and .375 H&H and have never experienced problems with accuracy or terminal performance at normal hunting ranges with heavier bullets, even with the 9.3x62 shooting a 250gr Hornady GMX at 2450fps or the .375 H&H shooting a 300gr Peregrine VRG3 at 2400 fps.

Maybe some other users of monolithic expanding bullets can share their experience here.

User
    GP, but in my mind, hunting for Ivory in the 1930's

Default Re: Monolithic Expanding Bullets, Weight and Velocity.

Following this, I have always favoured a heavier bullet for hunting, so 180gr in my 308, but I’ve never loaded mono metal Bullets for that calibre. But I’m assuming that the added weight will aid with penetration as much with mono’s as with bonded/cup & core?