Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    User

Default Ruger No 1A troubleshooting

I bought one today. The price was too good to pass on, and I have always wanted one. If the seller sends it with the post I can shoot it on Saturday already. :)

I know that some No 1's have issues when it comes to grouping, especially with vertical dispersion. I'm hoping that the one I bought has no issues. I'm realistic about my expectations, and I'll be happy for a two shot group as close to MOA as I can get it.

Has any one here have experience with a No 1?

User

Default Re: Ruger No 1A troubleshooting

I have no personal experience of fiddling with one. The few that I got to fondle all shot well enough.

From what I read, about half of the No.1's were not one-hole groupers. Apparently this has to do with the barrel supplier/s and is not something you can tune out.

Best is to sort out any bedding issues, see what yours can do and decide if you are willing to live with that or not.

Weidmansheil!

User

Quote Originally Posted by A-R View Post
    I have no personal experience of fiddling with one. The few that I got to fondle all shot well enough.

From what I read, about half of the No.1's were not one-hole groupers. Apparently this has to do with the barrel supplier/s and is not something you can tune out.

Best is to sort out any bedding issues, see what yours can do and decide if you are willing to live with that or not.

Weidmansheil!
    Waidmamsdank :)

https://www.egun.de/market/item.php?id=17932095

I'm not expecting to take it on hunts that may require follow up shots. So no need for 5 shot MOA groups. Minute of boar or roe will be sufficient.

Will see what it does. The seller sent me photos of his last groups. The rifle likes light for calibre monos. It bodes well.

User

Is the calibre a secret? 😂 I passed up on a 30-06 many years ago and has still not forgiven myself. Enjoy.

User

Quote Originally Posted by FFourie View Post