Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Glock cleaning

Default Glock cleaning

I need pointers on cleaning my G27 (gen1). Ive been carrying it daily for 15 years. It gets a clean after every shoot and now and then in between (not often enough I'll admit). The trouble is after years of carry it needs more than just an average clean.
    Glock agents apparently do a complete strip down and service for R1500. Various parts are replaced and it comes back as good as new. This sounds like a good option but regardless I need some pointers.
    Ive been told boiling water is good - strip and leave in for 5 minutes, dry and reassemble with lube. Petrol works as well.
    Ideally I need to strip it completely.
    I'd appreciate your tips and tricks. What products do you use ?
    Does anyone have a G27 manual showing how to strip completely ?

Default Re: Glock cleaning

I think there are plenty of youtube vids showing how to detail strip.

I use brake/carb cleaner to strip off old lube and other crap.

Relube with Slip/TW25B.

You really should be relubing every week.
    Cattle die, kindred die, every man is mortal:
    But I know one thing that never dies,
    the glory of the great dead.
    Havamal

User

Chemicals (petrol) are not good for plastic....

even though there are those that say Brake Cleaner is OK authoritative people like Pat Rogers say no - brake cleaner is not as innocent as some make it out to be.

Use good quality aerosol cleaner like Birchwood Casey Gun Scrubber (Polymer Safe specified) or Slip2000 725 Cleaner/Degreaser which is synthetic and bio degradable.

I would never subject a 9k firearm to petroleum cleaners, it is just not worth it imo.

User

Hey, its tupperware, just pop it into the dishwasher together with grandma's noritake set.

On a more serious note, I use KleenBore Gunkout to clear all the crap that builds up from firing but if i run out I use benzine, after thorough cleaning I relube with TW25B or Slip2000 EWL.