Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    User
    Right next to the pot that needs stirring.

Default Pergrine VRG3 vs VRG2 for general hunting

Morning to all. Over the last few weeks I started shooting more with my .404 Jeffery and am now on the brink of starting to hunt with the new rifle. I feel ready for hunting shots, but will limit shots to 120 m and 150 on larger antelope.

My question: I am planning a hunt that will have available to hunt on the farm to be Impala, BWB and Eland, but only Eland cows.

I have Peregrine VRG3 and VRG2 in 350 gr and 360 gr. They walk along at 2300 fps for all practical purposes.

I am hunting for biltong. Don't want too much wasted meat, but a wounded animal is wasting all of it.

On the same shot placement, the VRG3 should be more effective than VRG2 with regards to "Knock down" as it should expand. But the VRG2 should be more forgiving on blood shot meat (probably no blood shot development.)

I don't hunt with FMJ in any of my rifles. Do use some expanding monos, but that is not "solids". Punching a small hole through something with a 6 - 8 mm bullet at 2600-2800 fps is not my idea of ethical hunting for my perspective of ethics.

So my actual question is: Is VRG2 in .423 Cal with its almost flat nose and sharp edges at the front an effective hunting bullet for BWB, Impala and Eland cows? Or will it do the same as a round nosed FMJ? And then also how bad would meat damage be with use of VRG3. I dont want to halve the Impala in the field.

User

Default Re: Pergrine VRG3 vs VRG2 for general hunting

Meat damage is going to be minimal with the VRG-3 at 404 speeds. VRG-2 I think will struggle to expand much, especially on the smaller game. I think performance of the 2 bullets will be very close with the VRG-3 hopefully expanding a bit more with its 'plunger' in the nose.

Banned