Page 1 of 12 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: Guns and flying

Default Guns and flying

Mornin.
    Im flying down to CT at the end of the month and was wondering what do you do with your gun when you fly. I def dont want to leave it at home. Can you arrange with an airline to lock up your gun and fly it with or something like that?
    MOLON LABE

User

Default Re: Guns and flying

SAA will charge you R100 each way to fly a handgun. Not sure about the other airlines. If it is a rifle or a handgun together with a rifle in a airline approved case it is considered part of your baggage allowance and it is free.

User

If you fly SAA you can fly your gun with you.

IIRC the security guys at the airport who transport the firearms will also store it for up to five days.

To add to what T and Davidc has said: Only SAA currently transports handguns. Some of the others will do rifles and you can probably add a handgun to it but I have no experience of that. You can store your handgun at ORT but that option is also only available to SAA customers. So if you fly BA or any other airline you cannot store your handgun at the SAA firearm desk. Don't ask me how I know this ;-)

SAA transport is R100 one-way or R60 for storage for a maximum of 5 days. Not all airports have SAA storage facilities so check before you go.

Also remember there is a difference between SAA, SA-Airlink and SA-Express. They are not the same and only SAA transport and store handguns. Also don't ask me how I know this ;-)

On a last point. I would only fly with my handgun on the busier SAA routes such as JHB-CPT and JHB-DBN. I had the unfortunate experience of once flying with SAA down to PE. On the return trip SAA had booked me onto a SA-Airlink flight because there were too few passengers for the SAA flight. Luckily for me I had stored my handgun at ORT for that trip otherwise I might have had a small problem!