Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Default new rule on dry firing

I was recently informed that because of an AD during a SADPA shoot, caused by the shooter and the SO not checking the weapon properly, no all shooter have to dry fire their weapons after showing 'clear'.

my beef is that most handguns are not designed to be dry fired, so now because of the incompetence of the few, i have a very real chance of destroying my one and only pistol, all in the name of sport. and when i pointed out that it is not good practice to dry fire a handgun I was informed, that if I did not like it I could go.

Default Re: new rule on dry firing

This procedure is standard in every shooting sport I have ever participated in. I have been shooting IDPA for a couple of years and this has always been the procedure. It's good practice as a final check. Modern handguns are quite safe to dry fire. (Rimfires excluded)

Dryfire practice is also good training.

If you are that concerned, buy a spare firing pin. Carry the spare in the gun, shoot the other.

What gun is it?
    Cattle die, kindred die, every man is mortal:
    But I know one thing that never dies,
    the glory of the great dead.
    Havamal

What does the rules of IDPA say? In IPSC you have to "Dry Fire" after showing clear and when I did participate in IDPA this was aslo applied.

What handgun do you have?

SSP is correct. Dry-firing is the final safety check before holstering unless the COF or SO specify otherwise.
    Because a thing seems difficult to you, do not think it impossible for anyone to accomplish - Marcus Aurelius

User

Yip - I have shot IDPA and IPSC and Dry fire is the practice for Final safety.
    Why would be "dry firing" s gun not be good for it?

Quote Originally Posted by christo