Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    User

Default Redfield VS Leupold

Hi Chaps,
    Can anyone give an indication of the difference between the Redfield and Leupold rifle scopes. Both are out of the same stable (I presume then same technology) both have lifetime gaurentees but there is a price difference. I have Leupolds on two of my rifles and they are brilliant but becoming costly. Is the Redfield noticably inferior to the leupold?
    I hunt up to 250m max and all I need is a scope that holds its zero from hunt to hunt without a problem. I have had my Leupold for 3 years now and unless I change my ammo, the scoped does not need any attention! POI remains the same time and again. Can redfield do this?
    I am looking to upgrade my .222 with a 4 - 12 x 40 Redfield.
    Thanks

on the edge of the gene pool, playing with an open container of HTH

Default Re: Redfield VS Leupold

I have no personal experience with Redfield, but my Leupold has not been rezero'ed in the last five years. It has been thrown in the back of an old Land-Rover and generally treated rather roughly all this time, and still shoots exactly to point of aim every time.

Why muck with what works?
    "Always remember to pillage before you burn"
    Unknown Barbarian

The Redfield Revolution scopes are made by Leupold at the same plant as all Leupold scopes are and the same material is used for tubes. Leupold won't say too much about the differences in sealing, optics, etc. but, as always, you are not going to get a Rolls Royce for the price of a Tazz. If the price difference is enough and your dealer has put some in the field with good feedback and you don't necessarily need the ultimate, I'd say the Revolution would be worth a try. Paul, however, has a good point, and if this was a rifle I used a lot, I, too, would likely spend the extra for a Leupy.
    Run Fast, Bite Hard!

User