Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Default What home invasion experience taught me

The issue of self-defence and home invasions come up quite frequently on gunsite. Over the last 6years or so, I had the unfortunate experience of having it happen 4 times!! So I thought I'd share some of that experience. Any suggestions or advice is of course welcome!

Now I am not law enforcement, nor do I have any SD training (only PH, but Kudus hardly ever break in to my home) so my experiences where raw, untainted by training like most of the population I guess.

I have always been good under extreme pressure (or lucky), grew up with different guns and shot them 1000's of times, so that did help and in some cases.

A) While I was a student, still living with my sister ( who's a better shot than most men with most guns and always packing) at 2:00 she checked out the window if I was home from my girlfriends, now wife. Underneath the window where 5 BG's, she shouted, they ran. I jumped up from my PC with headphones on, grabbed her 9mm and ran around the house checking for anything suspicious. Phoned the cops, took my flashlight and went outside to check on my 'bakkie', walked around the complex to check for any BG's.

The police showed up in an unmarked car, and as I stood and waited for them, they suddenly stopped jumped out and with flashlights and guns went running in different directions. I then realised that the BG's initially ran just about 50m into a dark spot an stood there the whole time watching me.

The next day I realised that they had already forced the gate in front of the kitchen door open, and the wooden door wasn't locked, so if they had 10 seconds more, they could just have walked in. But what is more scary was that I most probably ran past one or more of them when I went and checked on my bakkie (the kitchen door is behind a wall and obstructed from view.)