Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: TWO WAY RADIOS

Default TWO WAY RADIOS

Please guys, your advice is needed,
    I want to get a couple of two way radios, I am new to this and saw an add in a hunting mag. for a radio called "Vratvark @ R795" and a "Krimpvark @ R499", does anybody have personal experience with these models?

We would use it for hunting, and comms between the vehicles on the way there and back (Namibia) and then in a +- 4km radius at home.

Thanx.
    "Trespassers will be welcomed, and served a light lunch"

Banned

Default Re: TWO WAY RADIOS

Most of the newer two way radios are very effective with low battery consumption and plenty of features. They also dont need to be licensed.

User
    Right next to the pot that needs stirring.

Just make sure about the licensing requirements for Namibia. It is anyway a cheap and painless procedure so rather safe than sorry. Travelling through Botswana? For that you also need a license, but is not so easy and painless.

Would also like to know the answers.

From what I have seen the smaller R 1 000 radios seldom can transmit over 1km in favourable conditions. If you have line of sight you can get much further. Also at fill power the consumption is 1.7A with a 1.2Ah battery you will be lucky to get a full 6 hours, which may or may not be fine.

It would appear as if 4W is the legal limit. Ask them what the range is, it is not stated on their sire.

For vehicle use I suppose a pair of cb's would be best. Google zartek (I think that's the name), they also have good handheld devices with good range. Some a bit pricey but I believe good stuff.

User

The cheap licence-free radios are rubbish and a waste of money.
    CB (27mhz) went out in the 70's
    29mhz is economical for mobile units (fitted in the vehicle) but handheld units are expensive, not very good, and difficult to source

VHF is the way to go for this application