Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Smile Re: Fitting New Scope to Rifle Need of advice !!

Hi Guys

I Requested , a Gunsmith to Fit a New scope to my Rifle 8x57 mm mauser . he his providing
    a Leupold VX-1 4-12 x 40 , he his going to double check mounting taps ect , if drill an taps aligned 100z., or maybe
    be redrill retap....reblue ect....over the phone conversation... He his in TVL and i KZN.

his price for the scope and all the labour inclusive of fitment...= R 6400,00

He his one of the most reputable Gunsmiths in our land .

its my first time in this kinda issue..... am i making the RIGHT choice !!!!!!!......Can i go ahead and say Yes lets do
    it and kry kla !!!

kind regards
    Bull.

User

Default Re: Fitting New Scope to Rifle Need of advice !!

there is no perfect choice but rather each persons use for the scope and how comfortable they are with the scope. yesterday i went to safari and outdoor to compare the leopold vx1 3-9 x 40 to the bushnell elite 3-9x40 and for me the bushnell was easier on the eye so i went with that.....you need to compare a few scopes and see what works best for you..

thanks Yusuf !!
    great help...
    cheers , have a sweet weekend .

User

Bull, that seems like an awful lot of money considering the scope would probably only cost about half of that! I'm not sure what the VXI costs but it should be in the region of 3k.

Has the rifle previously been fitted with a scope? Was that scope accurate?

Seems like a lot of money to me to mount a scope (new scope bases and rings are about 1k and then the actual materials cost goes up to 4k, but still 2.4k for fitment).

Halo Meneer !!

Now , it makes sense !! thankyou !!! i really feel in my heart,,,,,,,,you truelly right about !!! what you stated !!!
    Thankyou so much ...for that...
    the rifle may had a scope sum time back...really not sure.....it has drills an taps for mounts.... another buddy of mine help me fit a